Office of Emergency Management

Location: Municipal Complex, 525 Palisade Ave. – Room 300
Phone: 201.313.2012
Fax: 201.945.6592
Email Email the Office of Emergency Management Coordinator
Police: 201.945.3600
Coordinator: Frank Poerio
Deputy Coordinator:

Mission Statement

To provide a comprehensive emergency management system which coordinates people and resources to protect the lives, property and environment of the Borough of Cliffside Park using an all – hazard approach through Mitigation, Preparedness, Response and Recovery from disasters and emergencies.


The Office of Emergency Management (OEM) is responsible, by Federal and State Law, for the coordination of all emergency services or departments in the Borough of Cliffside Park and all additional agencies contributing to any large scale emergency incident or disaster. Also all municipalities in the country must have an Emergency Operations Plan, which is the responsibility of the local Emergency Management Coordinator. This plan details all types of emergencies and the responsibilities of all local Emergency Services during declared state of emergencies. This plan must be updated and approved by the State of New Jersey every 4 years. And the Emergency Management Office also write Emergency Operation Plans for single sites within the borough like: Public/Private schools, Day Cares and High-rise buildings etc..


Besides working closely with the Police Chief, Fire Chief, EMS Director and Mayor and Council the Cliffside Park OEM receives support from the Bergen County OEM and the New Jersey State OEM also FEMA Region II. And from private organizations like Red Cross and Salvation Army etc.. And this office also holds membership with the New Jersey Emergency Management Association where experience and knowledge are shared by all Emergency Management personnel.

Emergency Management Council

Council Members are as follows:

Mayor Thomas Calabrese

OEM Coordinator: Frank Poerio

Council Persons: Kenneth Corcoran, Dana Martinotti, Selvie Nikaj, Lawrence Bongard, Peter Colao, John Chmielewski

Borough Administrator: Joseph Rutch

Fire Chief: Greg Yfantis
Police Chief: Marc Marano
EMS Director: Michael Russo
DPW Superintendent: Dean Nikaj
Borough Engineer: Kevin Boswell
Construction Code Official: John Candelmo
Chief Financial Officer: Frank Berardo
Health Officer: Nicole Smith
Board of Education: Michael Romangino

Visits: 0 Visits: 253603